

Awards Overview

ACCG Leadership Awards are the highest honors given to elected or appointed county officials or other individuals who have made significant contributions through public service in local government and other involvement within the community and/or the state level. Individuals may be nominated for these awards by a county elected or appointed official, an individual, an organization or an ACCG staff member. The recipients of ACCG Leadership Awards are selected by the Board of Managers Awards Committee and recognized at the ACCG Annual Conference. All nominations must be received no later than **Friday, March 3, 2022.**

Emory Greene Leadership Award Nominees

Since its inception in 1990, The Emory Greene Leadership Award is recognized as the highest award presented by the ACCG. This award is named in honor of the late Emory Greene, Chairman of the Bibb County Board of Commissioners and former ACCG President, who was not only an outstanding leader in his home county, but was also a statewide leader who served on a number of boards and commissions. The Emory Greene Leadership Award recognizes a county commissioner who has made significant contributions in the local community and at the state level.

Jerry R. Griffin Excellence in Public Service Award Nominees

The Jerry R. Griffin Excellence in Public Service Award was created to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions to the citizens of the state of Georgia through public service in county government. This award is named in honor of Jerry Griffin, whose career followed a strong path of state and local government positions, progressing from the Georgia Municipal Association, to the Georgia Department of Community Affairs and the Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority (now known as the Georgia Environmental Finance Authority) before serving as ACCG Executive Director for over 23 years. Throughout his professional career, Griffin was a recognized leader who established a solid foundation of programs and services that still exist today. The Jerry R. Griffin Excellence in Public Service Award recognizes an appointed county staff member or another individual who has had a lasting impact through county government public service and/or in his or her community.